Just a couple of thoughts . . .


gotta have that coffe to think, I think

gotta have that coffe to think, I think

I have had a couple of topics on my mind for a while.  For the past year and especially the last 3 or 4 months, I have been consumed with church planting and along with that I have been overwhelmed with concern about evangelism.  I have been writing sermons or rather, my thoughts about evangelism.  I have been reviewing my old evangelism books (“Out of the Salt Shaker”, “Evangelism as Lifestyle”, Lifestyle Evangelism”, “Permission Evangelism” and others).  Of course church planting and evangelism go together.

Let me encourage you to read the August 9, 2009 Christian Standard (www.christianstandard.com).  Great stuff there.

Think about all this in light of Acts 1:8; and Acts 2:42-47; 1 Peter 3:15.  Take time to read these now.  You can go www.biblegateway.com to find these scriptures online.

Now the Question:

When someone asks you about “your church,” what do you tell them?  Do you tell the service times.  “Worship is at…” or where the building is located, “Go to route ___ and turn…” or that you have a certain kind of worship style or that the preacher preaches like this.  Do you tell them about children’s or youth programs, small groups or all kinds of things about your church? Or do you say, “We’ve been helping the poor,” or “We have been providing this service to senior citizens that need help?”  Do you tell them, “We’ve been praying for and helping start a church in Haiti” or wherever it might be?

I have been concerned with what evangelism is.  It is obvious, that most of us are not evangelizing.  And of the ones that are, are we evangelizing enough and as we should be.  Ouch, this is stomping on my own toes.

I am rethinking evangelism.  The manner and focus of it.  I will share the new sermons about evangelism soon.   But I think we should consider it all according to James 1:22 & 2:14-26.

From Jeff, past, present and future evangelizer.

PS: Check this out for a laugh http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvYFvhx1dcY  The Evangelism Linebacker.

Leave a Reply

