Deep and Dark or Light and Happy


I love to play music.  My instrument is the guitar. I read about the guitar, surf the net in search of guitar info, and listen to mostly guitar music.  Guys like Jeff Beck, and Eric Clapton, Joe Satriani, Gary Moore, Al Dimeola and I can go on and on with a list of guitarists I love to listen to.

This evening I was reading the latest edition of Guitar World magazine with Jimi Hendrix on the cover (http://www.guitarworld.com/).

In the interview with Joe Satriani, he was telling about how he used different gauge strings and played tuned down a step for the Chickenfoot album and tour.  But when he returned to his solo projects, he went back to using lighter gauge strings and standard tuning.  That’s when I realized the difference in a lot of the music I listen too and play.

Al Dimeola with his PRS Prism signature model

A lot of bands today, use dropped tuning, at least tuning the 6th string down from E to D.  They’re trying to have a darker sound and a darker tone of music.  Most of those bands I don’t get.  Their music is depressing and dark but that has never suited my mood.

I am a light-hearted person.  I am up, always up, and I realized that my guitar tone, and the character of the music I like and play is based on my character and personality.  That’s why I like guys like Satriani, Santana, and Steve Vai, etc.  That’s why my songs are happier, even joyful.

Why is that.  As an old song we used to sing in church goes, “I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart…down in my heart to stay.”

bloggingthechurch

Leave a Reply

