What does it mean to follow Jesus?


I sometimes wonder what the responses would be if I asked the church I preach for, or any other church for that matter what it means to follow Jesus?

Would I get a religious response? Would it be an emotional response? Would it be something that they heard a co-worker say or saw on the internet? Would it be a Biblical response? What would it be?stock-photo-religious-word-cloud-314485148

Would they say it means to be happy? It means we need to be serious? It means to obey? It means . . . ?

I must be honest, I don’t understand the Trinity of God, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I believe in the Three-in-One. I believe the Bible accurately reveals this truth to us. But understanding and explaining the reality is hard. But one thing I understand, that the relationship each member of the Trinity has with each is one of joy, love, respect, and unity. They trust each other. They trust each other implicitly.

Given that we are helpless sinners, saved by grace through our faith in Jesus, what does it mean to follow Jesus?

I see it comes from the relationship of Jesus with the Heavenly Father. It comes from the love and unity they have. Jesus always obeyed the Father. It was because of love and trust. Jesus tells us, “If you love me, keep my commandments,” (John 14:25).

And the best way to keep Jesus’ commands is to do as he does. It is to become like him in character and trust God with all our might, or as Jesus said, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and all your mind. And love your neighbor as yourself” (Matthew 33:37 and 39).

blogingthechurch

Leave a Reply

